Mudcake!

image

I’ve been working really hard on my smooth cake frosting. I have a long way to go I think but I’ve been taking every opportunity I can to practice.

This is a mudcake I made for a friend’s birthday. The last mudcake I did was really dry and I’ve been trying to figure out why – I baked this one at a lower temp and it didn’t crack or dry out as much, so I’m thinking the oven temp must be off. I’ve also started doing this trick where you wrap a damp tea towel in alfoil and wrap that around the cake tin to keep the sides moist. I have a few charred tea towels as a result!

image

I’m really enjoying sprinkles and looking into getting a few fancy mixes from somewhere like Sweetapolita! There are some really amazing colour combinations and I want all of them, but at $12-20 AUD they’re pretty expensive. Hopefully one day I can justify it.

image

Also taking every opportunity I can to show off this new cake stand! I won it on Instagram from La Luna in Inglewood, here in Perth. It was a joint prize as part of the cake I won from Sugar and Nice. How pretty is it? Excited to now have a few different cake stands to play around with now!

2 thoughts on “Mudcake!

Leave a Reply

