Easter Cupcakes

image

I wasn’t planning on making anything for Easter this year, but someone tagged me in a competition for Easter cupcakes, so I figured why not. Of course, that meant doing something relatively inventive which I wasn’t too sure about. I’d done the cupcake nests before, but since I’d been practicing painting fondant, this seemed like a good idea as well.

image

As per my last post, I painted onto cut out rounds of fondant using gel food colouring diluted in white rum (but vodka or any white spirit would work). I meant for the colours to be more pastel, but didn’t dilute the gel enough I guess. Same with the black, I think because I didn’t mix enough rum in the gel stayed sticky rather than drying. But otherwise everything turned out really well!

image

The cupcakes are vanilla with a vanilla buttercream frosting. For the nests, I piped the frosting just on the outside of the cupcake, then filled the hole in the middle with some chocolate eggs.

image

Yay Easter treats!

One thought on “Easter Cupcakes

Leave a Reply

