Pumpkin Spice Cupcakes with Halloween Chocolate Bark

image

It’s hard not to notice the growing presence and popularity of Halloween here in Australia. My American friend was shocked to hear I never went trick or treating, or carved a pumpkin. But now it’s everywhere! I don’t mind, but I know a lot of people are wary of being too ‘Americanised’ (despite Halloween not originating in America).

image

So Halloween. Being relatively new to Halloween, I wanted to try my hand at some ‘traditional’ Halloween flavours. I love pumpkin, both savoury and sweet, so versatile and delicious. I’ve made pumpkin pie before but wanted to do something a bit different.

Over the past year I’ve become a big fan of Katharine Sabbath (@katharinesabbath on Instagram). I love her flamboyant style of baking and wanted to do something reminiscent of that. In particular I love how she makes chocolate bark, so I tried to do that for the cupcakes.

image

This chocolate bark is melted white chocolate. I then dyed some white chocolate with Americolor purple gel and some Americolor Flo Coat to allow the water based gel to mix with the oil based chocolate. I didn’t add enough Flo Coat though so the chocolate still seized up; will have to experiment with that a bit more. Breaking the chocolate bark was a mission haha! I think I made it too thick.

My local IGA had candy corn in their imported section, so I threw that in along with some sprinkles! I’ve never had candy corn, and it’s delicious. And obviously very bad for you. But delicious.

image

Pumpkin Spice Cupcakes
(Adapted from Wilton.com Pumpkin Spice Latte Cupcakes)

Makes approx. 24 cupcakes
150g butter, softened
1 1/2 cups caster sugar
2 eggs
2 cups self raising flour
1/2 tsp salt
1 tbsp mixed spice
1 tsp cinnamon
1/2 tsp nutmeg
1 cup pumpkin, boiled mashed and cooled
1/2 cup milk

Preheat oven to 180°C. Cream together butter and sugar until pale and fluffy. Add eggs and beat thoroughly one at a time.

Add dry ingredients and beat until combined. Add pumpkin until combined. Add milk until combined.

Spoon cake mix and divide into cupcake patties. Bake for about ten minutes or until cooked all the way through. Allow to cool on a cooling rack.

Top with cream cheese frosting and chocolate bark.

image

Here is me co-ordinating my outfit with my cupcakes, hehe.

image

Happy Halloween!

3 thoughts on “Pumpkin Spice Cupcakes with Halloween Chocolate Bark

Leave a Reply

