Coconut Raspberry Frosting

image

Spring is here! Or at least it felt like it today. The sun was warm and not a cloud in the sky. What a better way to celebrate than tulip-shaped cupcakes?

image

Actually, I made these for a friend of mine who is moving back to her family in Adelaide. It’s a little bittersweet but I hope I can see her again soon.

Cupcakes! The cake itself is a simple vanilla recipe from Vegan Cupcakes Rule the World. I would recommend to anyone even if you’re not vegan (I’m not), the recipes are foolproof and delicious and it’s just great. I won’t post the cupcake recipe here as I don’t know if I need permission for that, but I will post the frosting recipe!

image

I made a vegan frosting with copha (coconut shortening) and margarine. The copha gives it a nice subtle coconut taste and is really nice. It’s important to get the copha really soft – almost melted, even. I cut it into cubes and just zap in the microwave at 30 second intervals until it gets half melted and soft.

I wanted a marbled effect with the frosting, so I set a third of the frosting aside and added defrosted frozen raspberries to it. I didn’t bank on the cold raspberries seizing up the copha in the frosting so it went a little weird; next time I will let the raspberries get to room temperature.

Vegan Frosting:

1/2 block of copha, softened
1/2 margarine, softened
3 cups icing sugar
1/2 cup frozen raspberries, defrosted and room temp.
Water as needed

Method:

Beat the copha until there’s no lumps.

Add margarine until smooth and pale.

Add icing sugar a cup at a time, blending until combined. You may need water to thin it out if it gets too thick to pipe.

Divide about a third of the frosting aside in a separate bowl. The raspberries will go in here.

Mush the raspberries through a sieve until you get a nice amount of raspberry liquid/mush. (You can set aside the seedy pulp or use it in something else like iced tea or a smoothie). If you don’t push the raspberries through a sieve, the seeds will get in the way of piping.

Get a piping bag with a large star attached. Fill one side of the bag with the raspberry frosting (this can be tricky), then fill the other with the rest of the frosting. This will create a nice marbled effect.

image

Leave a Reply

