Neapolitan Anniversary Cake

It’s Nick and I’s three year anniversary today! So I decided to make a neapolitan cake – a flavour for each year we’ve been together. 🙂

image

To make each component of the cake, I made a double batch of vanilla butter cake, then divided the batter into thirds. I left one third plain, added cocoa powder to another, and strawberry liqueur/pink food dye to the third, then baked each layer individually. I did the same with a double batch of buttercream frosting.

image

In retrospect, I think I should’ve done three batches of frosting, there was just a little less than I would’ve liked. Because it’s incredibly hot and humid the icing kept melting the more I worked with it, but overall I think it worked out awesomely!

image

Yum!

image

3 thoughts on “Neapolitan Anniversary Cake

Leave a Reply

