Jellybean Rainbow Cake

So one of my baking resolutions for 2014 is to bake more full sized cakes and practice frosting them properly! (My other baking resolution is to successfully make macarons).

image

Anyway, this is a cake for my friend Shamini who is moving to Melbourne. It’s vaguely inspired by the Bertie Bott’s Every Flavour Beans from the Harry Potter series, and also by rainbows (fitting because Shamini and I are big HP fans, and she was one of my first openly gay friends). The cake itself is just a simple chocolate cake recipe from Women’s Day; the frosting is Betty Crocker brand.

image

As you can see I’m a novice cake froster, but I did manage to do okay at the sides, I thought. That’s until I started prematurely adding jellybeans before allowing the frosting to set, causing miniature jellybean frosting avalanches.

Stupid gravity.

Overall though I’m pretty pleased with the results! It’s fun and colourful, just like my friend. I hope she likes it!

image

4 thoughts on “Jellybean Rainbow Cake

Leave a Reply

